esaso faculty

Fellowships 2013/2014

Ophthalmologists who complete five ESASO modules receive the Diploma of Specialist Superior in Ophthalmology (DiSSO) and the opportunity to reach a higher level of specialisation. The ESASO Fellowship is an advanced specialist training programme in which the recipient can acquire a thorough, in-depth understanding of the specific subject and, accordingly, proficiency in the exercise of the clinical-surgical profession.

Objectives of the Fellowship Programme

The Fellowship consists of a grant and a research project which is supervised by Prof. Stanley CHANG, director of the Programme. The Fellowship curricula are planned in consultation with accredited departments of ophthalmology to ensure that the prescribed objectives are achieved.

View ESASO Fellowship Programme PDF

Duration and Organisation

The one year Fellowship is subdivided into three consecutive stages corresponding to skill levels to be gradually attained and certified term by term.

  • The Fellow achieves proficiency in the execution techniques for all diagnostic procedures covered by the Fellowship; is being involved in all clinical/treatment decisions; and has mastered a good theoretical knowledge of operating techniques. In addition, the Fellow has commenced her/his research project under a Tutor’s supervision. (Months 1 – 4)
  • The Fellow further fine-tunes her/his skills for the execution of all diagnostic procedures; achieves a
    competent autonomy in handling the clinical and therapeutic aspects of a patient’s care; and begins executing surgery procedures under a Tutor’s supervision. The Fellow carries on with his research work according to the plan laid out at the start of the
    Fellowship. (Months 5 – 8 )
  • The Fellow achieves a thorough knowledge and mastery of the technical skills and of the diagnostic
    and clinical routines; acquires a sound proficiency in surgery procedures as confirmed by the number of
    operations carried out; and completes her/his research programme. (Months 9 – 12)


Fellow’s advanced training is conducted at one of the specialist teaching hospitals or university centres that have entered into a partnership agreement with ESASO.

Key Focus Programme Director Institution, City and Country
Cornea & Refractive Surgery Prof. José L. Güell Instituto de Microcirugia Ocular (IMO), Barcelona, Spain –
Medical Retina Prof. Francesco Bandello Università Vita-Salute San Raffaele, Milan, Italy  –
Prof. Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth Allgemeines Krankenhaus Universitätskliniken, Wien, Austria –
Prof. Anat Loewenstein Department of Ophthalmology, Tel Aviv Medical Center (TLVMC) & Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University (TAU), Israel –
Prof. Borja Corcóstegui Instituto de Microcirugia Ocular (IMO), Barcelona, Spain –
Prof. Marco Attilio Zarbin Institute of Ophthalmology & Visual Science, UMDNJ-New Jersey, USA –
Surgical Retina Prof. Borja Corcóstegui Instituto de Microcirugia Ocular (IMO), Barcelona, Spain –
Prof. Anselm Kampik Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München (LMU) –
Clinical Product Development Prof. Marco Zarbin Various Institutions – Click here to see booklet

View Minutes Selection Process 2013

View Minutes Selection Process 2012