ESASO has a visiting faculty of 173 professors from over 35 countries. If you have problem finding your faculty please use our search facility.


Professor, Maltepe University, Faculty of Medicine, İstanbul, Turkey

Dr Kapran graduated from Istanbul Medical Faculty. His clinical ophthalmology training was at the Gazi Medical School Ankara.  He worked as teaching faculty member and Deputy Chief of Istanbul Hospital.  He organized and directed the Retina department of Istanbul Hospital.Attended AZ Middelheim Hospital, Ophthalmologydepartment Andwerp Belgium and Washington University School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science St-Louis, Missouri–USA. He became Chief of second eye clinic of Beyoglu Eye Hospital between 2001 – 2011.  Dr. Kapran designed different instruments for vitreoretinal surgery. His main fields of interests are vitreoretinal surgery, small gauge vitrectomy and ocular trauma.

Summary of Experience in Ophthalmolgy

  • Extensive experience in Advanced Vitreoretinal Surgery.
  • Contributing teaching microsurgery for more than 20 years

Professional Memberships

  • Turkish Ophthalmic Society- Member
  • Vitreoretinal Division of Turkish Ophthalmic Society
  • EVRS (European Vitreoretinal Society (Country Delegate)
  • American Academy of Ophthalmology- Member


  • Scientific papers,
  • Lectures, paper presentations , instruction courses,chairing, live surgery sessions in Turkey, Europe and USA
    • 36 in International (SCI , SCI-Expanded) journals
    • 66 in International Ophthalmology Meetings
    • 62 in Turkish Medical Journals
    • 188 in Turkish Ophthalmology Society congresses

Executive and Administrative Position

  • 2010- Present, President, Vitreoretinal Surgery Division of Turkish Ophthalmic Society
  • 2009 – 2011, Secretary, Vitreoretinal Surgery Division of Turkish Ophthalmic Society
  • 2004 – Present, Executive member of Vitreoretinal Surgery Division of Turkish Ophthalmic Society
  • 2004-2006, Treasury, Executive Committee of Istanbul Branch of Turkish Ophthalmic Society
  • 2006- Present, Country delegate, European Vitreoretinal Society

Back to previous page