Pasquale Aragona MD, PhD, is Full Professor and Chairman of Ophthalmology at the Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Messina, Italy, Head of the Eye Clinic of the Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria “G. Martino” of Messina, Italy;

Director of the School of Specialization in Ophthalmology and President of the School of Orthoptics and Assistance in Ophthalmology and of the University of Messina;

Head of the Regional Excellence Centre for Ocular Surface Diseases and the Regional Centre for Rare diseases in Ophthalmology at the University of Messina;

-Education: Medical Doctor degree, magna cum laude, at the University of Messina in 1985;

Specializations in Ophthalmology in 1989, magna cum laude, and in Clinical Pharmacology in 1994, magna cum laude, at the University of Messina;

Doctorate Diploma, magna cum laude, in Ophthalmology and Surgical Correction of the Refractive Errors at the University of Padua, Italy;

In the 1987 and 1991 he was attached to the Institute of Ophthalmology of the University of London and External Eye Diseases and Contact Lens Departments of the Moorfield’s Eye Hospital in London (UK).

-Clinically, he specializes in the medical and surgical treatment of ocular surface diseases and of the anterior segment of the eye.

-He is Past-President of the Italian Society of Dacriology and Ocular Surface (SIDSO), founding member of the Board of the following scientific Societies: European Dry Eye Society (EuDES); Società Oftalmologi Universitari (SOU); Società Italiana Uveiti e Infiammazioni Oculari (SIUMIO); member of the board of the Società Oftalmologica Siciliana (SOSi); Società Italiana di Contattologia Medica (SICOM).

-Organizer of several International and National Congresses.

-Member of the following European Research groups in Ocular Surface Diseases:  OCEAN, ODYSSEY, ECOS-G.

Regional Representative for the Tear Film and Ocular Surface (TFOS) Society (2004-2010) and member of the TFOS Medical and Scientific Advisory Board (2010-2013); He participated to the Meibomian Gland Dysfunction Workshop (2009-2011) and the second TFOS Dry Eye Work-Shop.

-Associate Editor of Acta Ophthalmologica and European Journal of Ophthalmology. Reviewer for the principal journals in Ophthalmology; he is in the Editorial Board of several International Journal of Ophthalmology and is the author of more than 200 scientific papers published in the most relevant Journals in the field of Ophthalmology.

-He is recipient of the following Prizes: Italian Ophthalmological Society Prize for Pure Research in 1996; Amber–Silver Medal of the Polish Cornea Symposium in 2011; Amber-Gold Medal of the Polish Cornea Symposium in 2015 and Gold Medal of the Calabrian Ophthalmological Society in 2019.