ESASO has a visiting faculty of 173 professors from over 35 countries. If you have problem finding your faculty please use our search facility.

CHANG Stanley

Professor of Ophthalmology, Columbia University, New York, USA

Stanley Chang, MD, is the K.K. Tse and K.T. Ying Professor of Ophthalmology. Dr. Chang obtained a bachelor of science in electrical engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After a MS degree in Biomedical Electronic Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania, he completed his medical education at the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Columbia University. He completed the ophthalmology residency program at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, and vitreoretinal fellowhip at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute. Dr. Chang joined the faculty of Department of Ophthalmology at Cornell University Medical School in 1979, where he became Professor of Ophthalmology in 1994. Appointed the Edward S. Harkness Professor and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology in 1995, he also served as Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, Columbia University, and director of the Edward S. Harkness Eye Institute until 2012.

Dr. Chang has developed and pioneered several revolutionary surgical approaches to treat complicated forms of retinal detachment, improving outcomes for patients worldwide. He was the first to use perfluoropropane gas in the management of retinal detachments caused by scar tissue proliferation (PVR) on the retina. This gas is the most frequently used gas in vitreoretinal surgery. He developed perfluorocarbon liquids, a ‘heavy liquid’ used in flattening retinal detachment, and the related surgical techniques for vitreoretinal surgery. In collaboration with Avi Grinblat, he developed a panoramic viewing system and led in the worldwide adaptation by retina surgeons to this technique. He is the recipient of several honors including the Hermann Wacker Prize from the Club Jules Gonin, Helmerich Prize from the American Society of Retinal Specialists, the Senior Honor Award and the Secretariat Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Edward Jackson Lecture, the Charles Schepens Lecture and the Alcon Research Institute Award. Consistently named as one of America’s best doctors, Dr. Chang was also recognized as one of three physicians selected as National Physician of the Year by the Castle Connolly Guides (2008).


Back to previous page